Home > Miami Dolphins, NFL, Teams > A Mock Exercise

A Mock Exercise

I went a bit mock crazy in the past several weeks, drafting as the virtual Dolphins GM in four seven-round mock NFL drafts, three of which allowed trades. While this has been a fun, enlightening, and exhausting experience, I have come up with some interesting results. Take a gander at the hauls I made in each draft:

MockOne

MockTwo (no trades)

Pick Player Pick Player
1.24 Ryan Mallett, QB, Arkansas 1.15 Aldon Smith, DE/OLB, Missouri
2.15 Mikel Leshoure, RB, Illinois 3.15 Clint Boling, OT/OG, Georgia
3.08 Clint Boling, OT/OG, Georgia 4.14 DeMarco Murray, RB, Oklahoma
3.15 D.J. Williams, TE, Arkansas 5.15 Jordan Cameron, TE, USC
5.15 Cortez Allen, CB, Citadel 6.15 Cecil Shorts, WR, Mount Union
5.32 Julius Thomas, TE, Portland State 7.14 Graig Cooper, RB, Miami
7.15 Damien Berry, RB, Miami 7.15 Nathan Enderle, QB, Idaho
7.32 Eugene Clifford, S, Tennessee State 7.32 Scott Lutrus, ILB, Uconn

MockThree

RapidMock

Pick Player Pick Player
1.08 Cam Newton, QB, Auburn 1.15 Mike Pouncey, OG/C, Florida
1.25 Mark Ingram, RB, Alabama 3.07 Mikel Leshoure, RB, Illinois
2.29 Marcus Cannon, OT/OG, TCU 4.30 D.J. Williams, TE, Arkansas
3.22 Edmond Gates, WR, Abilene Christian 5.10 Pat Devlin, QB, Delaware
 5.16  Virgil Green, TE, Nevada 5.27 Denarius Moore, WR, Tennessee
 6.01  Johnny White, RB, North Carolina 7.8 Johnny White, RB, North Carolina
 7.07 Andrew Jackson, OG, Fresno State 7.14 Rob Housler, TE, Florida Atlantic
 7.32 Mario Harvey, LB, Marshall 7.15 Jah Reid, OT, Central Florida
7.32 Joe Lefeged, S, Rutgers

If you are so inclined, you can click on each mock draft to see the details of all the trades and the other teams’ results. Otherwise, there is too much information to post here.

The first thing that strikes me, and the main reason I decided to write about this, is the stark difference between all the mock drafts. I went in to each draft with the same mindset: fill needs, which I think are RB, OG/C, QB, TE, WR with some S and LB sprinkled in there, in just about that order. While I have a few of the same picks across multiple mock drafts, I generally got different results, especially in terms of where players were drafted.

MockThree had a “War Room” concept where each team had three GMs that created a consensus big board and made collective decisions, or at least that was the goal. Funnily enough, I believe that was the least realistic mock draft in terms of what the Dolphins might do. I love the picks we made, but I doubt the Dolphins mortgage next year’s draft to pick up another first round pick and grab Newton. We also went a bit of a trading spree, which I think might have gone a bit overboard. Still, anything is possible.

My favorite haul was that from RapidMock, which I feel would be a 500-foot home run if the Dolphins were able to pull it off. But that draft is also unrealistic in my opinion; there were several players that fell much further than where they will actually go, namely Mikel Leshoure, D.J. Williams, Denarius Moore, Johnny White, Joe Lefeged, and Jah Reid.

That leaves MockOne and MockTwo in competition for the most realistic. I really like MockOne because there were not a lot of trades made on my part, and the Dolphins got a lot of players they have been tied to. I personally love Mallett, and I think the Dolphins could even draft him at 15. MockTwo could be the more realistic of the two, though, even if I did take Aldon Smith as the BPA at 15.

At any rate, it was great to dive deep into the draft and try to get in the head of the Dolphins front office. If they can pull off anything like one of these four mock drafts, I would be pretty happy. Just, please no Andy Dalton or Colin Kaepernick at 15!

 

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

